ARC Review · books

Book Review: They Both Die At The End

35216509
They Both Die At The End
by Adam Silvera
Rating: ★★★★

When Mateo receives the dreaded call from Death-Cast, informing him that today will be his last, he doesn’t know where to begin. Quiet and shy, Mateo is devastated at the thought of leaving behind his hospitalised father, and his best friend and her baby girl. But he knows that he has to make the most of this day, it’s his last chance to get out there and make an impression. Rufus is busy beating up his ex-girlfriend’s new boyfriend when he gets the call. Having lost his entire family, Rufus is no stranger to Death-Cast. Not that it makes it any easier. With bridges to mend, the police searching for him and the angry new boyfriend on his tail, it’s time to run. Isolated and scared, the boys reach out to each other, and what follows is a day of living life to the full. Though neither of them had expected that this would involve falling in love… 

Today is Mateo’s last living day. Today is his End Day, as informed to him by a distracted and uncaring woman working at Death-Cast making call after call to each devastated person as fast as she can. He doesn’t know when exactly he’ll die in the twenty-four hours or how but he does know that it is certain that he won’t live any longer than that. Rufus also gets a call in the hour after Mateo actually only giving him twenty-three hours of his life left and he’s starting that with beating his ex-girlfriend’s new boyfriend into the ground. He lost his whole family to Death-Cast in one day so now he plans to make the most at a funeral party with his two best friends and family at the foster home but plans don’t always go through exactly.

This is the second book I’ve read from Adam Silvera but definitely not the last. History is All You Left Me was the first I read of his just two weeks about and it wasn’t a great read for me. I still really liked the idea of it but I didn’t like the characters and the story for the majority of the book. Ultimately, the author still had a way of writing a really compelling book that you can’t help but be glued to, however in the case of They Both Die At The End I might have well been actually glued to it because I literally read it from start to finish because I didn’t want to put it down. I know the focus isn’t on Death-Cast but it’s just such an interesting concept and I really was desperate the whole time to know how the hell they were able to predict everyone’s death on the day of their death but the focus is on the people and that focus was really good with so many wonderful moments and surprises along the way.

Now about the two leading roles of this production, Mateo and Rufus. These two meet on the 5th of September with absolutely no previous connection and only one fundamental thing in common – the date of their deaths. However, that is what ends up bringing them close together and creating something beautiful and heartbreaking. Mateo and Rufus weren’t my favourites with their mannerisms and all the stalling on their final day but I can’t be too annoyed at how they acted at times because that’s how any of us could be and that author once again writes perfectly realistic characters with so many flaws and issues. I loved that even though they were so different in background, surrounding and personality they still managed to be perfect companions to each other and I warmed to them more as the story progressed.

So to summarise, this book might very possibly make you weep if you get attached and you’ll be kept up late wanting to know how it ends. I loved the plot and flow of this story and I was pleasantly surprised as well with the great secondary characters. There’s a great deal of connection in the book that happens in ways you didn’t imagine until it happens and I was really happy with it. Of course, the ending still ruined me just like everyone else because we were prepared for heartache and shock but then again we really weren’t because we all expected it to go another way deep down.

(Thanks to Simon & Schuster Australia for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. They Both Die At The End will be released on the 7th of September!)

Goodreads Updates

tbdate

Click here to add this book to Goodreads.

– Kirra // Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Book Review: They Both Die At The End

  1. I need to read this book. I know I’m probably going to end up in tears, but I’ve heard such amazing things about it. Thank you for such an awesome review, it made me even more pumped to read it. I just stumbled upon your blog, and I’m greatly enjoying its content so far!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thank you so much that’s so lovely to hear and yes, you definitely might cry when you read They Both Die At The End!

      I think the best thing to do when you’re new to reviewing is create a layout you use with each post (e.g. Photo, title, review) so they all look the same and use tags associated with the post (book, ya, Australian fiction) when you publish it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

